MS 291 - $459.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A high-performance, fuel-efficient chainsaw. Great for felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup.

Equipped to handle demanding tasks, the MS 291 increases running time by 20% over previous model. Packing plenty of power, this chainsaw is ideal for felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup. Several user-friendly features include an advanced anti-vibration system that reduces operator fatigue and side chain access for easy saw chain adjustment. The MS 291 is a dependable choice for a mid-range...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 291 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 55.5 cc (3.39 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.8 kW (3.76 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 5.6 kg (12.3 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 500 cc (16.9 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 240 cc (8.12 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN .325 RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges) 40 to 50 cm (16" to 20")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 67) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3003 000 6813 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.
  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
For Your Safety
  • Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Forestry Helmet System
    Adjustable hearing protection. Epoxy-coated full face screen. Tough ABS hard hat meets ANSI Z89.1-2003 Type 1 Class G. All parts are replaceable.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 291 is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 244.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "You gotta be handy with the Stihl, if you know what i mean Love this saw..love my 251& my 170. These saws are my favorite tools.
Date published: 2017-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dependable Saw Cut our way out of two hurricanes in 3 years. We have worked this saw like a dog falling hundreds of trees and never had an issue until recently. Most of our trees are 12'' to 30'' diameter pines, cypress and oaks. Recently the muffler became loose and fell off, regardless of how tight the torx head screws were fastened they vibrated loose every few minutes. Installed new T27 torx screws and applied red high heat lock tight. Have not used the saw since, hope the problem is solved.
Date published: 2017-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Run away from this. Absolutely a pile of garbage. Stay away from it. I have a 10 year old chainsaw that starts better. I thought you guys were supposed to have good chainsaws. If i am spending 10 minutes starting this pile your wrong. This was a brand new chainsaw. Plus its made of cheap plastic that twists. How can you have a handle that is so pathetic.
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I had a MS 290 Farm Boss, but wanted/needed a second one. I origianlly had another brand 18 inch 42cc ( I believe the specs are correct) prior to the MS 290. I was pretty frustrated with myself after purchasing the MS 290. Why in the heck didn't I buy a Stihl to start with? After using it my hands would be numb pretty quick. It's fairly difficult to get it started. Yes it was less money and if you only use it a few times maybe its ok. I wasn't sure at first if I wanted all the features that come with the 291. I haven't used it too much recently, but here is what I like. The added chain stop on the handle is great. Knowing it stops in the event of you dropping it or stumbling is reassuring. You should still treat it as though its live and running regardless. The easy start was a little different for me after having a traditional unit. After a few startups I become acccustom to it and works great. I have a 20 inch bar on it, so its a little heavy. I probably could make due with a 18 inch or maybe a 16. Again I haven't really put it through its paces yet, but so far its worked like I expected it to. I would recommend it and would buy it again if needed.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dealership Lacking I went to buy my 5th Stihl chainsaw in a 30 year period. Todays buy at W.L. Forestry Supplies Ltd left a lot to be desired. They took the saw off a shelf and PDI it. While I was paying for the saw and picking up the files and extra oil for the warranty extension bit. So I asked about a box and blade cover and they a said that is extra now. I guess a wrench to adjust the chain and bar is extra too. Didn't get a manual either. Are we suppose to ask for every item or are some actually included.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dependable Best saw I’ve ever owned over a year no problems. Plenty of power
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product could use some upgrading This saw is hard to restart after it warms up . You would think that if it was fueled when it was purchased it would be ready to run with out needing to set carb. yourself . It is on the light side and don't wear you out as fast as other saws have .
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power, runs smooth Awesome saw, powerful, dependable, always easy to operate
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hurricane Irma!!! Hurricane Irma, felled a huge tree on my moms house.... Went to a recommended store... There was a line....got one or the last ms291......bought an extra chain but didn't need it...that 20inch bar was a beast!!!!!!...came back a few days later and did some more work!!!! Awesome saw
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute Beast This new MS291 is my 5th Sthil chainsaw and is an absolute BEAST. Purchased from Kevin at AGPRO in Dacula GA who suggested this is type of saw i needed to upgrade to. I have alot of other Stihl gear and have nothing but good to say about the quality and dependability in their equipment. Everything I buy is an investment in my self and my business.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible saw with equally horrible service!!! I bought this saw earlier this month. The salesman started it successfully before I left. A few days later when I tried to start it, it did start after about 6 pulls. After 2 cuts through an 8" log, I turned it off when a neighbor stopped by. It wouldn't restart after innumerable attempts. I took the shroud off and removed the spark plug which was not flooded. Subsequently, it still wouldn't start. It did start on a return trip to the dealer, but when I got it home, it still wouldn't start despite 2 days of trying, checking the spark plug again, etc. I returned it to the dealer on Sept 11th and waited a week for a call to pick it up. Finally, I called the dealer and was told it would be 3-4 weeks before it was ready. I then called customer service on the 18th, waited on hold and then gave up and chose the option for them to call back. No call ever came. So, I spent a lot of money for a chainsaw 3 weeks ago, got 2 cuts out of it and will have to wait 3-4 weeks more before I get this piece of junk back. This is not acceptable!!!!!!!
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful, Reliable & Easy to Run I have run this saw for 5-7 hours nearly non-stop on a few dozen days since purchase. After some irritating issues starting cold on the first few tanks of fuel during break-in it now fires easily and has since run flawlessly. Unlike other saws I have owned/used it does not throw nearly as much bar oil. While it does run a bit hot and I make a point of clearing the oil inlet on the bar it seems to be by design. I went with an 18" bar to keep the torque up and think it is a good fit for the motor. Top marks to the MS291 for someone who wants to run a saw for large firewood cuts and heavy clearing with virtually zero maintenance.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mediocre saw. Service even worse. Bought a Stihl MS291 disregarding several recommendations to go with a competitor. My dad has had his Stihl for years, so I figured 'why not?'.Unfortunately, this saw didn't make the cut - nor did the customer service.Experience: 10 years firefighting - structural & wildland; land manager 1000+ acres; heat primarily with wood - Central Boiler 5036I have had continual issues with this saw, namely with tensioning issues on the chain and bar. The bar nuts frequently fall off, yet if overtightened, do not allow movement of the chain. The last straw was after I took the saw apart, cleaned everything up and put it back together, put the faceplate back on, tightened the nuts, fired it up...walked 100 yards, and one of the nuts was gone. I've had other experienced operators adjust the tension and run the saw, and they experience the same issues - all are very surprised as they've never seen these issues from any saw. I have also had issues with stalling lately, after the 1st use after an overhaul from the dealer.It's been into one dealer several times - one time for several weeks - whom can't answer why I'm having the issues, and I spoke to another dealer that said he had never heard of such a thing.I took the issues directly to Stihl, as compared to going back to a dealer. I don't have time to deal with my saw being down all the time - It was time for Stihl to stand behind their product. Stihl's response "take it back to the dealer." I told them no. No response.Bought a new saw... from a competitor.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw!! A must have if you are going to do anything with a chainsaw other than trim limbs. Starts easy and power to spare.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I got a lemon First off the bar wasn't getting oiled, it kept getting hot when free spun without cutting. Then I noticed that the oil pump is just leaking out the bottom. Took it back to the dealer and they told me to contact the company. I got told it was normal but I literally need to keep a bottle of oil close just to pour directly on the bar to keep from over heating. I love stihl products and it won't keep me from buying more I'm just dissatisfied with this product.
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product has good features This saw works very well and has lots of power but it's extremely heavy !! If you use this saw for a couple hours you will get a work out so really consider that before purchasing this saw .
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great combination of function and serviceability. I paid the extra $100 for the MS291's additional .5HP (vs the same size and weight MS271), and am glad I did. My first chore was felling a 2 1/2ft dia. silver maple, so very hard, dense wood. Lots of cleanup cutting too, just to get pieces of the - again super heavy - tree down to moveable size. The saw's powerful, accurate cutting made for dropping the tree within inches of where I wanted it. So much (hard) cutting made for multiple chain adjustments, and one quick sharpening job. This is where the saw's serviceability came in. Super fast and easy with Stihl's chain tensioning system. This was a big, tough job for an out-of-the-box saw, which is not yet producing peak power (not yet broken in). And being one to really take care of my stuff, I again enjoyed Stihl's fantastic design when cleaning out the air filter. An (again) easy twist-off design. A little compressed air and the filter and engine were as clean as new. This saw's power and 20 inch bar make it a machine for experienced users. It's not something I'd recommend for the novice. You'll want all the safety gear (chaps, head and face protection, ...) I've done many years of forestry management for the Nature Conservancy and other organizations,and have been using chain saws for the better part of 47 years. The Stihl MS291 rates as the best I've ever owned, and one of the very best I've ever used. S. Cummings, Boulder, CO
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from More reliable than my MS 170 and 171 no problems except occ hard to start if very hot. cuts fast, easy to use
Date published: 2017-07-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed I've had chainsaws for over 30 years. Not on a large scale, typical homeowner use. Bought an outside boiler and knew the chainsaws I had wouldn't hold up to the extra use. guys kept telling me: quit buying cheap saws, get a real one...Time to step up to a Stihl!! the 291 one was recommended by dealer. Had no problems with it for the 2.5 years I've had it. except one time it stalled and didn't start again that day. but cut about 4 cords since then. UNTIL about a month ago. ran 2 tanks through that day. it stalled.. needed fuel. topped of fuel and chain oil. Never started again. No spark. I did some checking, figured it to be the coil. Took to dealer. he said same. Under warranty. New coil goes on. Still no spark. he continues to investigate..A few weeks later, they call and say the piston is scored. Ran straight gas!!! No way.!! I learned of the bad stuff ethanol does to 2 strokes. so when I bought this saw. I bought new can, marked off for 1 gal and 2 gal. and use the Stihl oil.. no way did I put in straight gas. .. and no one has ever borrowed it.. I use ethanol free gas and it was no more than 2 months old at the time I ran this.. Been in discussions with other dealers and friends on what may have happened so still investigating. I can't argue that looking at the piston, it looks like it was oil starved, so I have no dispute with the initial determination, just that I can't see how it's from my fuel mixture. I have sent this to Stihl directly and they sent comment to a dealer, so in process... I need a saw now so will buy another primary... so back to the research. Good thing I have my other saw I bought for smaller work.. and it's using the same fuel mix that the Stihl conked out on... (and my "cheap saws" still work well)So at this time, I can't really recommend the saw. Once I have resolution, I'll update.Still don't understand why I don't have spark, though...
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Built to last I've had my saw for a year now and I Stihl love it. It's easy to start dependable, and has the power to do much more than I will do. I have cut down a 30" oak tree with no problem which included cutting up the large trunk of the tree. The standard chain seems to stay sharp forever. The chain oiler is a little light on oil but I have yet to burn up the bar or chain. There is a little blue color due to heat on the bar but it still holding up fine. I'm use to being able to see oil sling from the chain but not on this saw. It seems to use bar oil at the same rate as my old saw.Starting is a snap just don't skip a step cause it does flood easy if you do. This requires waiting or if in a hurry drying off the spark plug. That being said it still starts easier than any of my past saws.I am buying a second 291 for my son in law.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw runs great I had debated between another brand 455 and the Stihl 271/291. Purchased the 455 at the blue store due to convenience at the time, good saw but the warm start routine was too cumbersome and I returned the saw. Visited the local Stihl dealer who had the 291 with accessories on a deal. Half a dozen cans of premix fuel, few of extra chains and oil, upgraded case, etc. and I was on my way to cut a few trees down at a newly purchased property. My first new Stihl product. I also learned our local utility company maintenance crews were using Stihl products when they came out to drop the power line so I could cut the problem trees.The first few tanks of fuel, I ran it pretty easy. The busy day was 15 pine trees down ranging from 12 to 24" diameter and cut in 4 foot lengths. Keeping the chain sharp, it cuts like butter.Living near NFS land, we can cut home use firewood with permits. Used the saw to cut 8 cords with no problems. Dead standing trees in the firewood cutting area don't stand a chance against this saw...... Love that sound when the tree hits the ground. Doing my part to minimize wildfire in the National Forest.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 291 Great saw. Lightweight, easy to start and handle, durable. Cleared over 300 trees on my property due to wildfire in Colorado a few years ago. Not a single problem. My first saw (MS 039) still runs great after 20+ years. Definitely worth it.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw I bought this saw to replace an 028 AV. It has performed great: always starts and easy on fuel.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work horse I have used this saw extensively for the past 6 months. I literally rand the main housing of the saw over with a full sized truck (oops). All it did was barely crack the plastic, and it fired right up. The only real issue i have had with this saw is using the aggressive chain. It doesnt want to stay tight for some reason. Standard chain cuts like a dream though. I am running a 18 in bar, because i feel that it is balanced better this way.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw for farm work and very dependable. Excellent chainsaw for fsrm work. I never had any trouble with Stihll Products.
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chainsaw I've ever used I'm not currently a pro logger, although I have done freelance hardwood logging (red oak, cherry, black walnut) in the past. This is the fifth chainsaw I've owned. It is vastly superior to any other I have used. Saw no. 3 died a few years ago and I got a yellow "Pro" new one from an orange big box store. That "Pro" saw could barely cut a 6" pine, much less an 18" oak. Very poor throttle response. After having 40 acres of pine logged last year, that saw proved incapable of the work needed to clean up behind the loggers. The MS 291 cost about 3 times as much, but is able to get the work done, probably 5 times faster than the "competitive" saw. My city-living son-in-law gets the yellow saw...
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great little saw I am a pro logger I usually run 440 and 460 magnum. I was impressed with this saws power after about ten tanks of gas.it is still gaining power I'm on tank 15.just know if you buy one they are hard on gas during break in but the more you use it the better it gets on gas and power
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw, have used it very hard, runs like a champ! Have read the reviews where they say it "lacks power". I disagree, I'm running a 20" bar and cut mostly oak, hickory, ash and locus. The only time I get it to "stall" is on the harder woods with a chisel chain and I get to aggressive. Never had the problem with the green coded low kick / anti kick chains. I've used it enough to wear out the wearable parts and needed to replace them. Keep in mind this is a medium duty, intermediate saw, not a heavy duty professional one.My only wish is that it had an adjustable oiler, like it's predecessor, the MS-290. It runs a little lighter on the oil then I'd prefer, but it hasn't been an issue. I also have one of the earlier production saws, so they may have tweeked that a bit.Overall, I'd buy another, but considering how long Stihl products last, I'm sure this model won't be in production when I need to replace it.The compression when starting hasn't been an issue.
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommend Stihl I have a number of Stihl products...ie: Blower, Brush Cutter, MS 261 and my newest, MS 291. I had an MS 290 that I used without problem for many years and loved it. The MS 291 is superior to other chainsaws I have had. The power is excellent and it maintains it throughout the cut. It has already made some hard and physically taxing job much easier and overall less strenuous.
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw is a beast! Very fuel-efficient the quality is made in the USA this saw will cut through anything that you need to
Date published: 2017-06-06
  • y_2018, m_1, d_21, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_244
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms291, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl