MS 271 FARM BOSS® - $389.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A high-performance, high-tech, fuel-efficient chainsaw.

Bringing reduced-emission technology to mid-range chainsaws, the STIHL MS 271 FARM BOSS® is ideal for felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup tasks. An improved low-emission, fuel-efficient engine cuts emissions by 50% when compared to previous models and delivers 20% longer run times than traditional 2-stroke engines. Designed with user comfort in mind, its compact, ergonomic design and advan...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 271 FARM BOSS® Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 50.2 cc (3.06 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.6 kW (3.49 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 5.6 kg (12.3 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 500 cc (16.9 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 240 cc (8.12 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 26 RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges) 40 to 50 cm (16" to 20")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 67) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3003 812 6813 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

For Your Safety
  • Sleek Line Glasses Zoom
    Sleek Line Glasses
    A lightweight frame made of nylon offers the ideal combination of durability and comfort. Rubber temple tips and nosepiece offer a pressure-free fit behind the ears and protection from slippage on the nose bridge area. Protective lenses filter 99% of harmful UV rays.
  • Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Forestry Helmet System
    Adjustable hearing protection. Epoxy-coated full face screen. Tough ABS hard hat meets ANSI Z89.1-2003 Type 1 Class G. All parts are replaceable.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 271 FARM BOSS® is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 571.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw Very nice, sturdy, reliable and powerful. I borrowed a friend's different branded saw prior to purchasing this beauty. Other saw was hard to start, underpowered and a general pain to use. The Stihl is on another level. You will be happy with your purchase.
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver I live in the US Virgin islands, After being hit by TWO Cat 5 hurricanes only 2 weeks apart, we had our work CUT out for us. Spent about 30 days with this saw in my hand. She took any fallen tree like a dream. Helping get many people out of their houses, and cleared the road so our community could drive safely. Between a handful of 271's and 250's, the majority of the island of St John was cleared. These saws saved lives and I owe them my own. Big thanks to Stihl, and Kenny Chesney who sent the best saws to us after the storm.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw!! This is my first Stihl and all I will say is I should have bought this years ago! Great power, slices through wood like a hot knife through butter.
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stand by Orange and white all over our farm! WHEN DO YOU START MAKING FARM TRACTORS???
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Saw for Everyday Use I've had this saw for about a month now and have had no problems. Cuts through dry walnut better than any saw I've ever had. Starts right up, runs, and idles well. I've been using it to cut larger brush and fallen trees around my 10 acres and have had no issues with continuous use. Power to weight is perfect for my use.
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The cat's meow! I have owned several other chain saws, and friends of mine have consistantly told me "get a Stihl". My response has always been "I can't afford it". WELL, now that I own one, is have changed that. "I Can't afford not to own one!"East starting, easy to change the blade, easy to fill and maintain. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing chainsaw. Amazing chainsaw. I was in the market for a new chainsaw. I had so many problems with my old one, that I had enough with it. So I researched brands, as I did when buying my weedeater. I picked Stihl then for a reason, as I did this time too. However, I really wasn't sure which one to get. I had narrowed the choices down to the 250/251, 271, and 291. I really didn't need the power of the 291, nor the weight of it. The 250/251 were cheaper and weighed less, but they're only 5 cc larger than my old saw. So I picked the 271, and boy am I glad I did. It practically weighs the same as my old saw, but can cut stuff more than twice as fast. Love the fuel and chain oil caps, and the fact I don't have to use a scrench or the strength of 10 men to tighten or loosen them.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an excellent saw It starts easily, has plenty of power, cuts dry oak very fast. We heat our house with a wood burning stove so a good saw is a must. The Farm Boss is not heavy and is a pleasure to use. I am looking forward to many years of service from this fine saw.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good saw for the price Cuts fast and clean with little effort or work on my part.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth, powerful and easy to start Mine has the 18" bar. It has more than enough power to make short work of everything ive used it on. My only issue now is finding more work to use it on. Highly recommened.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start and easy to continue starting after stopping I bought this Farm Boss in Avalon Ace hardware in Orlando, FL. The instruction to start/operate at Ace was excellent and the product is fantastic, reliable quality. It has power and very easy to start again after putting it down after several minutes. Delighted with this new machine.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would buy again The only issues I have had were on the first tank of gas it took several pulls to start. On about the 8th tank of gas, the saw is well broken in, and starts like a champ easily every time. I have not owned a chain saw in almost 30 years of living in the city, but when I bought my ranch, I did research and settled on the Stihl 271 with a 20 inch bar. I am very happy for the purchase, and I know that this saw is going to last. I mainly cut central Texas yaupon and post oak, and while I may not be pushing the saw too much, I have had to cut a couple larger oaks. I regularly use the saw in very hot and dry conditions and have had no spark issues. The weight is fine for the size of the saw, and really after a while it's a reasonable weight for the size of the saw
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect amount of torque for a light saw that can handle a 20" bar with no issue at all Awesome saw that not only starts on the first pull but can cut threw wood like a hot knife threw butter
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic product Great power and balance, easy to use. Love my Farm Boss.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Problem with bar sprocket after several uses The saw is lightweight, starts and runs well and vibration is minimal. The only complaint is that the bar end sprocket failed within one month of use (maybe cut two cords with it)
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what i expected out of a Stihl product Great chainsaw, runs great, lots of power would recommend to anyone that wants a saw that works!!!
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts easily and has plenty of power Took me two or three try's to master how to start this saw, but now it is a joy. Found this saw to cut much better than my 35 year old stihl.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nearly everything I expected This saw is nearly everything I expected from Stihl. It replaces a 35 year old Stihl 032AV. I am please with it's easy starting, and good power for the 18 in. bar and chain. The "locking" bar oil and gas caps take some getting used toThe only concern that I have encountered is that one of the bar nuts loosened and fell completely off the second time I used the saw - even after I had tightened those nuts before starting to cut.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would recommend this saw I wouldn't trade my new ms -271 for anything I was using a husqvarna 350 ,and a husqvarna 445 to cut with . I've sold the 350 and the 445 is now my back up saw. I cut firewood every day so I really work my saws and my new ms- 271 makes my life a little easier it is quick to refill with gas and oil and makes short work of white oak
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic saw for average use Has been finicky at first but is getting better every time I use it. Quite a difference between cold/hot idle so took a while to get adjusted. I use it mostly for firewood and it seems to do great on soft wood or even hard wood under ~16", but keeping chain sharp and not being aggressive is a must for larger cuts. Overall I'm happy with the purchase, but still think I would like a bigger saw, as I don't believe this saw would handle (power) a bar larger than 20".
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Chainsaw! I bought this chainsaw instead of hiring a contractor to remove a 100 foot fallen red oak after hurricane Irma. I have done all the work myself with just this chainsaw and a splitting axe. The saw has been extremely reliable and I’m sawing through the large logs with no problem. I had zero experience with a chainsaw and was nervous to do this, but it has been very easy! I did buy the protective chaps and watched the STIHL safety videos to be safe and found them very helpful. I have sawed for several hours at a time with it and never feel any fatigue as there is very little vibration. I’m very glad I spent extra to get this vs going with a cheap chainsaw!
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw! Excellent Saw! Used it on a hunting trip and it cut anything I needed for our fires every night. Started right up in the cold (high teens).
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I bought a 271 as a back up saw for my OV-28 wood boss. Great saw ! Been buying Stihl products for 30 plus years. Always a great purchase. Quality products.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great form storm cleanup This saw went through six 15” oaks downed by Irma and went through them like butter. It’s a little heavy but stable and durable.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Performed as advertised. Powerfully, easy to start, smooth clean cuts. This is my first Stihl. No comparison to the Homelites and Craftsman saws I had purchased prior. A few extra dollars is well spent.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Newbie Heaven New to chainsaws, but tried out my friend's 290, which he loves. Decided on the 271 for the sweet-spot between the lower-powered of the 251 and the higher power of the 291. 20" bar zips through the large logs on my new property. Used multiple times now without any problems - followed the instructions on starting and it's reliable and powerful every time so far.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of power We live in a national forest that's been devastated by the Bark Beetle. We lost six huge pines on our property, so I bought the Farm Boss to buck them up for next year's wood supply. It cut like a knife through warm butter. Started up every time, and handled very easily. Even on deep cuts I never had a problem. Well worth the investment.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The weight is very well balanced. Overall it is excellent. The only way I could see it being better is a larger gas and oil tank.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome performance extremely dependable I had 2 other saws over the last 20 years but this saw is the boss. I love it and wonder why it took me so long to buy the last saw I will ever need. Power dependability and quality are unquestionably top notch. Since I value my time and don't want to waste it fiddling with a poor saw, the value is also excellent.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I cannot believe how easy the pull to start is. 18inch bar and has plenty of power. Low vibration and well balanced.
Date published: 2017-10-19
  • y_2018, m_1, d_21, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_571
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms271, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl